Governing Body

All Governors are volunteers and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. For maintained schools this is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’. 

The governing body should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

These functions are reflected in regulations for maintained schools that came into force in September 2013 and in the criteria Ofsted inspectors use to judge the effectiveness of governance in both maintained schools and academies.

How well a governing body does its job has a real impact on the success of a school and although they are made up of volunteers, governing bodies cannot afford to be amateur and must be held to account for their effectiveness. 

Governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities. In the interests of transparency, our governance arrangements can be found here: up to date details 

The Governors produce newsletters to keep you up to date of our work and priorities. These can be found in the newsletters section of this website.


Governor list as at September 2017:

Name                                                                      Category
Louise Rudd Chair
Sarah Edwards Parent
Babs Culling Parent
Mike Gray Co-opted
James Morris Parent
Rebecca Collins Headteacher
Ann MacLachlan Associate
Penny Warner Associate
Laura Watson Staff Governor
Hollie Common Clerk to Governors 

The following committees in place are:


Mrs Sarah Edwards (Chair), Mrs Rebecca Collins, Mrs Louise Rudd (Vice Chair), Mr Mike Gray,   Mr James Morris and Mrs Babs Culling

(For Interviewing purposes only: Mrs A MacLachlan) 


Mrs Rebecca Collins,  Mrs Penny Warner and Mrs Louise Rudd  


Mrs Louise Rudd 


Mrs Sarah Edwards and Mrs Louise Rudd

Special Responsibilites

Mrs Louise Rudd

Safe Guarding,
Equality & EYFS

Mrs Babs Culling

 Health & Safety

Mrs Sarah Edwards
Extended Services (inc lunch club) 

Mrs Penny Warner

Pupil Premium, CLA & SEND

Mr James Morris




Mr M Gray